Friday, Apr 20, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


6 from GOP competing in Bedford trustee race



Republican voters in Monroe County's Bedford Township will choose from a field of six candidates for trustee in Tuesday's Michigan primary election.

Incumbents Rick Steiner and Paul Francis are being challenged by Tom Covrett, Arnold Jennings, Nancy Tienvieri, and Aaron Wiens for the right to represent the Republican Party in the November election. The four Republicans with the highest votes will move on to the general election.

Three Democrats - James Goebel, Gail Hauser-Hurley, and Larry O'Dell, - also are running and will move on to the November election.

A total of four trustees will be elected in November, with the winners serving four-year terms.

The trustee races are among a number of township and county contests on Tuesday's ballot.

Dennis Steinman, a Bedford Township trustee for 28 years, George Welling are seeking the Republican nomination for township clerk. The winner will oppose incumbent Bob Schockman, a Democrat.

In the race for Monroe County sheriff, incumbent Tilman Crutchfield faces Troy Goodnough in the Democratic primary. Mr. Goodnough is an 18-year veteran of the sheriff's office, and Mr. Crutchfield is seeking his fourth term in the position. The winner will run against Republican Charlotte Reaume in November.

Various millage requests also will appear on ballots Tuesday.

Bedford Township voters are being asked to approve a new tax for park operations and maintenance. If approved, the 0.175-mill levy would run for five years and generate about $189,600 in the first year. It would cost the owner of a $200,000 home with a taxable valuation of $100,000 about $17.50 a year.

The renewal of a 1-mill levy to continue funding Bedford Township Fire Department operations and a 0.2-mill renewal and additional 0.05-mill request for Lake Erie Transit bus service in the township will be decided as well.

The only countywide tax request is a 0.5-mill renewal to support senior services in Monroe County. The property tax, first passed in 1980, provides funds for programs such as home-delivered meals, transportation, and the nine local senior centers in the county. It costs the owner of a $200,000 home, with a taxable value of $100,000, about $50 annually.

In Monroe County, other candidates running - either opposed or unopposed for elected office - are:

State Rep. 55th District: Kathy Angerer (D).

State Rep. 56th District: Bob Beadles (R), Jeanmarie Dahm (R), Kate Ebli (D).

County Commissioner

District 1: J. Henry Lievens (R).

District 2: Dale Zorn (R).

District 3: Al Potratz (D).

District 4: Jeff Andring (R), Nicholas Turner (R), Foreine Mental (D).

District 5: Marty Selvidge (R), Patrick Miller (D), William Sisk (D).

District 6: Gus Janssens (R), Larry Merkle (R), Jerry Oley (D).

District 7: Michael Humphries (R), Mary O'Neill (R), Randy Ansel (D), John Blair (D), John Fowler (D).

District 8: Connie Velliquette (D).

District 9: Johanna Armentrout (R), R. LaMar Frederick (R).

Prosecutor: Timothy Laitur, (R), William Nichols (D).

Treasurer: Julie Selvidge (R), Kay Sisung (D).

Clerk/Register of Deeds: Jo A. Bach (R), Kathleen Powers (R), Vickie Cronenwett-Koczman (D), Sharon Lemasters (D).

Drain Commissioner: R. Al Bain (R), Daniel Stefanski (D).

Surveyor: Scott Warnke (D).

Ash Township

Supervisor: Al Madaski (R), Robin Carmack (D), Glenn Goodnight (D).

Treasurer: Doug Leiffer (D), Nikki Martel (D).

Clerk: Michele Geiermann (D).

Trustee: (two to be elected) Jim Booth (D), Adam Grabetz (D), Michael Toro (D), Terry Wickenheiser (D).

Bedford Township

Supervisor: Walt Wilburn (R).

Treasurer: Sherri Meyer (R).

Berlin Charter Township

Supervisor: Richard Reed (D).

Treasurer: Judy Lindquist (D).

Clerk: Nicole Jondro (D), Denise Sovey (D).

Trustee: (four to be elected) Mark Chapman (R), Alan Bandura (D), Tom Blanchett (D), Joseph D'Agostino (D), Thomas Friar (D), Paulette Geiermann (D), Chuck Laws (D), Robert Masserant (D), Marvin Reaume (D), Jerry Tomlinson (D), Jim Vaslo (D).

Dundee Township

Supervisor: Joanna Uhl (D).

Treasurer: Linda Sontag (R).

Clerk: Tira Lupu (D).

Trustee: (two to be elected) Rollo Juckette (R), Tom Winkelman (R), Marilyn Larson (D), Gary Lazette (D).

Erie Township

Supervisor: William Frey (D), William Jacobs (D).

Treasurer: Cindy Baum (D), Cynthia Wisbon (D).

Clerk: Jolene Upchurch (D), Amy Whipple (D).

Trustees: (two to be elected) Gary Wilmoth, (R), Jesse Oyerbides (D), David Cousino (D), Tad Cousino (D), Denise Gordy (D), Michael Grodi (D).

Exeter Township

Supervisor: Cheryl Baltrip (D).

Treasurer: Tammy Kernyo (D).

Clerk: Billie Jean Iott (R).

Trustee: (two to be elected) Leonard Kernyo (D), Sam Miles (D).

Frenchtown Township

Supervisor: James McDevitt (D).

Treasurer: Rhonda Sommers (D).

Clerk: Mark Baker (D), Rita Emerson (D).

Trustee: (four to be elected) Hedwig Bergmann Kaufman (D), Jack Lindquist (D), Donald Lingar (D), Holly Robertson (D), Kraig Yoas (D).

Ida Township

Supervisor: E. Scott Desbrough (R), Ronald Iott (D).

Treasurer: Sherry Hilkens (R).

Clerk: Donald Appleman (R).

Trustee: (two to be elected) Elmer Bowman (R), Randy Stanifer (D).

LaSalle Township

Supervisor: Larry Rutledge (D).

Treasurer: John Zorn (D).

Clerk: Rick Feick (D).

Trustee: (two to be elected) David Anteau (R), Lyle Curley (D), Thomas Rutledge (D).

London Township

Supervisor: Gary Taepke (R), Barbara Jean Henley (D).

Clerk: Larry Lee (R), Lewis Irby Junior (D).

Treasurer: Charles Stoll (D).

Trustee: (two to be elected) Richard Horn (R), Bill Eaddy (D), LeRoy Zieske (D).

Milan Township

Supervisor: Phil Heath (D).

Treasurer: James Early (D).

Clerk: Margaret Rock (D).

Trustee: Olga Mancik (D).

Monroe Charter Township

Supervisor: Wayne Blank (R), Alan Barron (D).

Treasurer: Julie Althaver (D), Penny Barton (D).

Clerk: Bob Schnurr (D).

Trustee: (four to be elected) Ryan Timiney (R), Chad Cupp (D), Richard Janssens (D), Richard Wilson (D).

Raisinville Township

Supervisor: Gerald Blanchette (D).

Treasurer: Rosemarie Meyer (R).

Clerk: Janet Kuehnlein (R).

Trustee: (two to be elected) Keith Henderson (D), Robert Oberski (R).

Summerfield Township

Supervisor: Ken Iott (R).

Treasurer: Joan Wiederhold (R).

Clerk: Tammy Bleashka (R).

Trustee: (two to be elected) Mark Strahan (R), Dale Wagenknecht (R), James Seegert (D).

Whiteford Township

Supervisor: Pamela Dressel (R), Carla Smith (D).

Treasurer: Timothy Hill (R), Henry Lavimodiere (D).

Clerk: Bernice Heidelberg (D).

Trustee: (two to be elected) LeRoy Bunge (R), Robert Dickerson (R), Lawson Stone (R), Larraine Dressel (D), Donald Sahloff (D).

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…