Monday, Jun 25, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Plenty on primary ballot in Monroe

Judicial battles, tax increases among upcoming decisions


Former Bedford Township supervisor Walt Wilburn is running for the District 8 seat on the county board of commissioners. Mr. Wilburn, a Republican, is running unopposed.

Enlarge | Buy This Image

MONROE — Monroe County voters will encounter a busy primary election ballot, including candidates and proposals, when they go to the polls on Aug. 5.

There are some familiar names.

In Bedford Township, former township supervisor Walt Wilburn seeks the District 8 seat on the county board of commissioners. Mr. Wilburn, a Republican, is a shoo-in for his party’s nomination, given that he’s running unopposed. There are no Democrats in the race.

The primary contest for the Michigan 56th House District features two Bedford residents. Tom Redmond, a Democrat from Lambertville and retired sheriff’s deputy, is running unopposed for his party’s endorsement. On the Republican ballot are Jason Sheppard of Temperance, and Irma Kubiske, a small-business owner who lives in Ida. Mr. Sheppard sells commercial real estate and holds the District 8 seat on the board of commissioners.

Erie Township has one name on its primary ballot: Trustee Shawn Cousino, an appointed Republican who will run in November to fill an unexpired term.

The race for the Michigan 17th Senate District seat features Republican Dale Zorn, a well-known Monroe County political name, and Democrat Doug Spade, a former state representative from Adrian. Mr. Zorn, of Ida, is the 56th House District incumbent and a former long-time county commissioner.

Two candidates appear on the ballot for the Michigan 17th House District: Democratic incumbent Bill LaVoy, and Republican Charles Londo, a former Monroe County administrator who is the city administrator in Luna Pier.

County Commissioner David Hoffman, the District 1 incumbent, is unchallenged for the GOP endorsement. Jeremy McBee is the Democrat on the ballot.

Other candidates for the county board are: District 2, Mark Brant, the Republican incumbent, and Democrat Rico Perez; District 3, Albert Potratz, the Democratic incumbent, and Republican Dawn Asper; District 4, incumbent Robert Lambert, a Democrat, and Republican Dan Donahue; District 5, incumbent Democrat Jason Richard Turner, Democrat Scott Davidson, and Republican Norm Matthes; District 6, incumbent Jerry Oley, a Democrat, and Harry Reisig, a Democrat; District 7, Republican Gary Wilmoth and Democrat Mike Miller will vie for a vacant seat, and District 9, Republican incumbent J. Henry Lievens.

In the nonpartisan judicial races, the top two vote-getters will be on the November ballot. 1st District Court Judge Mark Braunlich is on the ballot with Anthony Brescol, Michael Brown, and Jarod Michael Calkins. The Monroe County Probate Court race features incumbent Judge Cheryl Lohmeyer, Jill LaVoy, and Melissa Matiash.

The Bedford Branch Library, LaSalle Township, and Mason Consolidated Schools have requests for new taxes on the ballot. The library is asking for a five-year 0.25-mill levy for operating expenses. LaSalle Township’s request is for a five-year, 0.5-mill tax for fire protection. The Mason district is requesting a six-year 2-mill sinking fund levy for maintenance and improvements.

Contact Carl Ryan at: or 419-724-6095.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…