Sunday, August 30, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Tuesday, 1/6/2009

Saints' Brees named AP Offensive Player of Year


NEW YORK Drew Brees has won the Associated Press 2008 NFL Offensive Player of the Year award after nearly setting a passing record for yards.

The quarterback of the New Orleans Saints threw for 5,084 yards, 16 fewer than Dan Marino s 1984 mark and only the second time someone has eclipsed 5,000 yards passing in a season.

Although the Saints were 8-8 and didn t make the playoffs, Brees prolific work earned him 22 votes in balloting by a nationwide panel of 50 sports writers and broadcasters who cover the league. NFL MVP Peyton Manning, quarterback of the Indianapolis Colts, and Minnesota running back Adrian Peterson tied for second with nine votes each.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.