Saturday, April 18, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Friday, 9/17/2004

Toledo Diocese recommends closing or merging 33 parishes in northwest Ohio


The Toledo diocese recommended closing or realigning 33 of its 157 parishes today, following a two-year internal study by its six-member Parish Futures Task Force.

The changes became necessary because of the dwindling number of diocesan priests and changes in church and regional demographics, Bishop Leonard Blair said in a news conference at the Catholic Center this morning.

The bishop plans to meet with parishioners starting in October for consultations and will make his decision on the recommendations by March 1.

As painful as change can sometimes be, this is not about gloom and doom, Bishop Blair said, and I am confident that we will succeed with God s help.

Here is a list of recommended closings and mergers:

Parishes to be closed and merged with another parish

(Location, Church: Recommendation)

Blakeslee, St. Joseph: merge with Edgerton or Montpelier

Cecil, Immaculate Conception: merge with Antwerp

Cuba, St. Isidore: merge with Kalida

Fremont, St. Casimir: merge with St. Ann

Hamler, St. Paul: merge with Holgate and/or Deshler

Junction, St. Mary: merge with Antwerp and/or Defiance

Kansas, St. James: merge with Millersville and/or Liberty

North Creek, St. Joseph: merge with New Bavaria

Toledo, Holy Rosary: merge with St. Stephen

Toledo, St. Anthony: merge with St. Hyacinth, church may become a shrine

Toledo, St. Agnes: merge with St. Catherine

Toledo, St. Francis de Sales: merge with St. Patrick Historic, church may become a shrine

Toledo, St. James: merge with Immaculate Conception

Toledo, St. Louis: merge with Good Shepherd and/or St. Thomas Aquinas

Toledo, St. Mary of the Assumption: merge with Rosary Cathedral

Toledo, St. Stanislaus: merge with St. Hyacinth

Toledo, St. Vincent de Paul: merge with St. Michael the Archangel

Parishes to be created

New Riegel: (From) St. Peter, Alvada; St. Nicholas, Frenchtown; St. Boniface, New Riegel

Upper Sandusky: St. Mary, Kirby; St. Joseph, Salem; St. Peter, Upper Sandusky

Marywood: St. Sebastian, Bismarck; Assumption, Reed; St. Michael, Marywood

Attica: St. Aloysius, Republic; St. Stephen, St. Stephen; SS. Peter and Paul, Attica.

Crawford County: St. Bernard, New Washington; Mother of Sorrows, New Auburn

Seneca County: St. Andrew, Liberty; St. Patrick, Bascom

Southwest Lucas County: Site to be determined

Read more in later editions of The Blade and toledoblade.com.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.