Monday, May 28, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Southern Lucas County voters to decide council seats, Sunday liquor

There are plenty of candidates to elect and issues to decide when voters in the Springfield-Maumee-Waterville areas of Lucas County go to the polls Nov. 6. Here is a roundup:

In Maumee, long-time Mayor Tim Wagener is unopposed. City Council incumbents seeking re-election are Jenny Barlos, Douglas Brainard, and Todd Zimmerman. Vying for one of their seats is newcomer Kathy Drahan.

Maumee voters in Precinct 5 also will decide if Gianno's at the Inn, 301 River Rd., should be allowed to sell wine and liquor on Sundays.

Holland Mayor Mike Yunker, another veteran, has a challenger in Terry Nachtrab. The Village Council has two seats up for grabs but only one candidate, incumbent Elaine Olsen.

Waterville Mayor Chuck Peyton, another political veteran, faces a challenge from first-term Councilman Derek Merrin. Three Village Council seats are in contention. Campaigning for them are incumbent Tim Guzman and non incumbents Bob Brakenwagen, Craig Cluley, John Gouttiere, Jim Valtin, and Norm Witzler.

Waterville voters will also decide on making five changes to the village charter and if Keeter's Sports Bar and Grill, 105 S. Third St., should be allowed to have Sunday liquor sales. Two proposed charter amendments would impose term limits on council members and eliminate them for the mayor.

In Whitehouse, Mayor Stan Wielinski faces a challenge from Angela Kuhn. In the Village Council races, three four-year seats are up for grabs. Incumbents Debby Curry, Ryan Grant, and Joe Wielinski are challenged by Frank Billings and Michelle Tippie. In another council race, Rebecca Fansler and James Miller are running to complete the remaining two years of an unexpired term.

In Monclova Township incumbent Trustee Barbara Lang faces a challenge from Chuck Hoecherl, while incumbent Fiscal Officer Sharon Bucher is unopposed.

In Providence Township, Trustee Steven Perry faces opposition from Christine Seles. Mr. Perry's wife, Fiscal Officer Gail Perry, is challenged by Gail McNeely.

Voters also will consider a 2.5-mill, five-year replacement tax for the fire department.

Andy Glenn, an incumbent Springfield Township trustee, has three challengers vying for his seat: Thomas Anderson, Helen Darrah, and Henry Schuster. Fiscal Officer Debbie Carpenter is unopposed.

Voters also will decide on whether a zoning change approved by the trustees for a planned subdivision at 6901 Garden Rd. should be overturned, as it was in May, 2006.

Waterville Township Trustee Les Disher is opposed by Tony Urbas. Fiscal Officer Kay Ann Robinson has no challenger.

Voters in the Anthony Wayne Local Schools will have an assortment of candidates from which to make their selections for the board of education.

There are four newcomers and two incumbents running for three vacant seats.

The incumbents are Gary Roser and John Rozic. The newcomers are Barry Cousino, Ronald Disher, Pam Gerhardinger, and Darrell Limes.

Maumee City Schools board members Bob Righi and Janet Wolff have no challengers.

Likewise, in the Springfield Local Schools, board of education members Keiran Menacher and Kenneth Musch are unopposed.

Also on the ballot will be 1.1-mill levy for rehabilitation of the district's athletic facilities that officials say will not increase taxes.

The Otsego Local Schools draw most of their students from Wood County but enroll some from southern Lucas County as well. In this district, board members Elizabeth Gorski and James Harter are unopposed for their seats, and write-in candidate Lisa Ann Hatfield is the only taker for an unexpired term.

Otsego voters also will vote on continuing the district's 0.5 percent income tax.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…