Loading…
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
HomeNewsState
Published: Monday, 10/25/2010

New Michigan drunken driving law coming on Halloween

ASSOCIATED PRESS

LANSING, Mich. — A new Michigan law is coming that increases the penalties against drunken drivers.

The law that takes effect Sunday creates a new "high blood-alcohol content" category for drivers. The law roughly doubles many penalties for motorists with a blood-alcohol content of .17 — more than twice the legal limit.

Such drivers could face up to 180 days in jail — increased from 93 — and a one-year license suspension — up from six months.

A suspended motorist can drive with restrictions after 45 days, but he must have a device installed in his vehicle that prevents it from starting if it measures a blood-alcohol level of at least .025.

The law coincides with drunken driving enforcement on and around Halloween.



Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.







Poll