Sunday, Apr 22, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


11 Michigan counties yet to be declared free of bovine tuberculosis

LANSING, Mich. — Michigan has declared all but 11 of the 68 counties in the Lower Peninsula free of bovine tuberculosis.

The Department of Agriculture and Rural Development issued a map this month declaring 57 counties free of the disease. The remaining 11 are in the northern Lower Peninsula. They are Alpena, Alcona, Antrim, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Crawford, Emmet, Montgomery, Oscoda, Otsego and Presque Isle.

Department Director Keith Creagh said in a statement "hard work by beef and dairy farmers" brought gains since Michigan first addressed the disease 17 years ago.

Bovine TB is a contagious bacterial disease of cattle and other animals. Authorities found it among Michigan deer in 1994.

Since testing began, 52 Michigan cattle farms have been affected by bovine TB.

Online: Map of bovine TB zones in Michigan

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…