Friday, July 31, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Thursday, 7/26/2001

UT names committee to find candidates for athletic director


The search for the University of Toledo's next athletic director is about to get under way.

President Daniel Johnson yesterday named 12 people to serve on the search committee, including five faculty and staff members, five community members, and two UT students.

Jim Klein, professor of law and NCAA faculty representative, will chair the committee and act as its spokesman.

Others on the committee include Brian Bushong, director of budget and planning; Joan Katz, a former UT Board of Trustees member; Calvin Lawshe, interim vice president of student services; Clint Longenecker, professor of management; Megan Mamarella, student trustee; Kelly Savage, former Rocket women's basketball player; Ed Scrutchins, commissioner of the Toledo City League; Alice Skeens, associate professor of sociology; Chuck Sullivan, a member of the UT Foundation Board of Trustees; Brian Weinblatt, former speaker of the Student Senate, and Jim White, a local attorney.

“The committee, with the help of an executive search firm, will be conducting an open, national search in order to assure that we are selecting the best person for the position,” Johnson said in a statement. “I will then make the decision for the new athletic director based on the three to five finalists the committee presents to me.”

A date for the first meeting of the committee has not been set.

Pete Liske had served as UT's athletic director the past five years, but his contract was not renewed. Mike Karabin has been interim AD since June 19.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.