Friday, April 29, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Sunday, 10/28/2001

UT women capture MAC cross country crown

YPSILANTI, Mich. - The University of Toledo women's cross country team won its first Mid-American Conference championship yesterday as junior Briana Shook won the individual title with a time of 17:49.9 at Eagle Crest Golf Course.

Shook, a Seneca East graduate, was named the MAC runner of the year and made the All-MAC first team.

“This was a great race for Briana,” said UT coach Kevin Hadsell, who was named MAC coach of the year. “She led from the start and never looked back.”

Juniors Petra Teveli (18:25.6) and Sara Vergote (18:28.4) were the next Rockets, finishing seventh and eighth, respectively, on the 8,000-meter course.

Junior Bonnie Stewart (19:00.8), from Start, was 21st and freshman Jessica Kraft (19:24.9) placed 34th.

Teveli and Vergote were named to the All-MAC second team.

The Rockets had finished in last place three years ago and set the record for the worst score.

This season they scored 71 points to 79 for runner-up Ball State. Kent State was third (82).

Bowling Green's women placed 12th at 311.

Joy Echler was the Falcons' top finisher, finishing 26th in 19:13.6. Senior Sarah Lohrbach (20:05.8) and junior Cyndi Bostdorff (20:36.4), both from Eastwood, were 70th and 89th, respectively.

Eastern Michigan had three of the top four finishers and won the men's race with 30 points to runner-up Miami's 83. Central Michigan was third.

BG was eighth (202) and UT finished 11th (261).

The Falcons' best finisher was Tom Kutter, 12th in 25:33.1. Justin Perez was next for BGSU in 37th.

The Rockets' best runner was sophomore Abraham Habte, who was 27th in 26:02.6. Orin Hemminger (Huron, 27:12.8) and sophomore Josh Morris (Clay, 27:22.9) were 65th and 68th, respectively.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.