Thursday, May 24, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Rockets hand out postseason football awards

University of Toledo senior linebacker Dan Molls received the Jim Nicholson Award at the team’s postseason banquet, which took place Sunday.

The Nicholson Award is given annually to the player most contributing to the team’s success and is considered the team’s most prestigious award. It is voted on by the players.

Molls led the nation with 166 tackles. He was named first-team Mid-American Conference and first-team Academic All-America.

Junior running back David Fluellen was named the team’s offense MVP after rushing for 1,498 yards, the most by a Rocket since 2007, while senior strong safety Jermaine Robinson earned defensive MVP honors thanks in part to four interceptions, two of which he returned for touchdowns. Junior Bernard Reedy was the special teams MVP after scoring four touchdowns on returns — three on kickoffs and one on a punt.

Senior defensive lineman Ben Pike received two awards, the Gus Yeager Legacy Award and the Hanson Senior Scholar Award.

The other award winners included Alonzo Russell receiving the Norman Cohen Award; A.J. Lindeman earning the Jon Binder Award; Hank Keighley receiving the Findlay Community Service Award; Danny Larkins winning the Future Team Player award on offense, while Derek Batt and Josh High shared the honor on defense; the Unsung Hero Awards winning to David Pasquale on offense, Phil Lewis and Danny Farr on defense, and Jeremiah Detmer on special teams; and T.J. Fatinikun earning the Lauterbur Leadership Award.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…