Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Wednesday, 4/9/2008


Megan Kuebler of Toledo, a junior at Notre Dame Academy, is a top-ten winner in the grade 10-12 category in a poetry contest held by Creative Communication Inc.

Her poem will be included in the anthology titled A Celebration of Young Poets.

Megan will receive a complimentary copy of the anthology and a $50 savings bond.


Amy Reitzel of Ottawa Lake, Mich., will be a semifinalist in the 24th annual American Quilter's Society Show and Contest April 23 to 26 in Paducah, Ky.

Her quilt, "Ribbon Stars," which is 88 inches wide and 106 inches long, was chosen from 798 quilts to join 394 others in the contest.

Quilt entries are from 43 U.S. states and 11 other countries.

The St. John's Jesuit Academy Science Olympiad team placed sixth in the Northwest Ohio Science Olympiad competition in Lima, Ohio, and will compete on the state level on April 12 in Columbus.

The team earned six medals, winning the trip to the state finals. The members competed individually and in groups in 23 events, which tested skills, processes, and applications in biology, chemistry, technology, earth science, and mathematics.

Members are Brendan Courtois, John Banoub, and Tony Calamunci of Sylvania; Corey Pollauf of Oregon; Andrew Kurtz, Chase Shugarman, and Amir Horani of Toledo; Chase Lindecker of Lambertville; Dominic Zirbel of Bowling Green; Zach Oberhaus, Walker Lowell, and Ben Oberhaus of Swanton; Spencer Crawford of Maumee; Andrew Manion of Perrysburg, and Zach Zoltowski of Monroe. They are coached by science teacher Dave Nichols.

In Ohio, Ohio State University sponsors this program.

St. John's Jesuit High School won the Toledo Quiz Bowl championship this year, the second time in a row, and will represent Toledo at the regional competition on April 26.

Team members are Steven Dezort of Maumee; Gautham Senthilkumar, Kevin Litzenberg, and Alec Korte of Bowling Green, Ethan Keating and Muneeb Rehman of Sylvania; Mike Stainbrook, Roberto Salas, and Larry Baibak of Toledo; Drew Brown, Mark Antiporda, and Jordan Anthony Brown of Perrysburg. Faculty member Angileen Gilbert is the team moderator.

J.W. Rayson Terry III of Toledo, a junior business economics major at the University of Dayton, has been awarded the university's Riley Award for leadership and service.

Mr. Terry received a $1,800 scholarship.

The award goes to a junior whose sustained involvement with student initiatives exemplifies the values of the university.

He has been asked to provide support to minority students at UD and is part of the Office of Diverse Student Population's efforts to retain black students.

As president of UD's Black Action Through Unity, he has increased the organization's membership threefold.

He also has served as a mentor at the Dayton Early College Academy, a partnership between the university and Dayton Public Schools.

Mr. Terry is a graduate of St. John's Jesuit High School.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.