Thursday, May 26, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Monday, 10/15/2012 - Updated: 3 years ago

Nobel focus turns to economics, last of this year's awards to be announced


STOCKHOLM — A Swedish committee is getting ready to present the winners of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, the last of this year's Nobel awards to be announced.

The economics prize was not among the original prizes established in the will of Alfred Nobel, a Swedish industrialist also known for inventing dynamite. It was created by the Swedish central bank in Nobel's memory in 1968, and has been handed out with the five other prizes ever since.

Like the other prizes, it's worth 8 million Swedish kronor, or about $1.2 million.

Last year's economics prize went to U.S. economists Thomas Sargent and Christopher Sims for describing the cause-and-effect relationship between the economy and government policy.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories