Saturday, Apr 21, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio

All-MAC teams, rant

The Mid-American Conference all-league teams were released today. Toledo had four players honored, Barry Church on the first team, Stephen Williams and Nick Moore on the second team, and DaJuane Collins on the third team.

Several things stood out to me as I looked at this team:

-- How does a team with one Division I win, Miami, get seven players on the three teams? Four defensive players, to boot. Their scoring defense and rushing defense was 12th in the league.

-- Bowling Green finishes second in the East and gets one starter represented. A guy who leads the league with 11 pass breakups, Antonio Smith, gets no mention.

-- Tim Hiller was better than Dan LeFevour this year, with 15 more TD passes and 1,000 more passing yards.

-- With 119 tackles, good for second in the MAC, Archie Donald should have been honored.

-- Julian Edelman tore up MAC defenses all year and should have been mentioned in some way.

-- Antonio Brown is a great punt returner, but he isn't even in the top 10 in the league in kickoff return average.

-- I'm a big DaJuane Collins fan but as the Toledo release said, he was injured most of the year and was the second-leading rusher on his own team, with Morgan Williams outgaining him by 300 yards.

With that said, here is the lengthy list of awards.

Individual Award Winners

Vern Smith Leadership Award Larry English, Northern Illinois

Coach of the Year Brady Hoke, Ball State

Offensive Player of the Year Nate Davis, Ball State

Defensive Player of the Year Larry English, Northern Illinois

Special Teams Player of the Year Antonio Brown, Central Michigan

Freshman of the Year Sean Baker, Ball State


First Team

Center - Dan Gerberry, Ball State

Lineman - Robert Brewster, Ball State

Lineman Andrew Hartline, Central Michigan

Lineman Chris Kemme, Akron

Lineman - Andre Ramsey, Ball State

Tight End - Darius Hill, Ball State

Quarterback - Nate Davis, Ball State

Wide Receiver - Jamarko Simmons, Western Michigan

Wide Receiver - Naaman Roosevelt, Buffalo

Wide Receiver - Antonio Brown, Central Michigan

Wide Receiver - Bryan Anderson, Central Michigan

Running Back - MiQuale Lewis, Ball State

Running Back - James Starks, Buffalo

Placekicker Nate Parseghian, Miami

Second Team

Center - Alex Derenthal, Temple

Lineman Augustus Parrish, Kent State

Lineman Jeff Niedermier, Buffalo

Lineman Josh Leuck, Ohio

Lineman - T. J. Lang, Eastern Michigan

Tight End - Branden Ledbetter, Western Michigan

Quarterback - Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan

Wide Receiver - Nick Moore, Toledo

Wide Receiver - Dante Love, Ball State

Wide Receiver - Stephen Williams, Toledo

Wide Receiver - Jacory Stone, Eastern Michigan

Running Back - Dennis Kennedy, Akron

Running Back - Eugene Jarvis, Kent State

Placekicker Mike Salerno, Northern Illinois

Third Team

Center - Eddie Adamski, Northern Illinois

Lineman Jon Brost, Northern Illinois

Lineman Phillip Sawnson, Western Michigan

Lineman Jason Onyebuagu, Northern Illinois

Lineman - Greg Wojt, Central Michigan

Tight End - Andrew Mooney, Ohio

Quarterback - Tim Hiller, Western Michigan

Wide Receiver - Andre Jones, Akron

Wide Receiver - Deryn Bowser, Akron

Wide Receiver - Bruce Francis, Temple

Wide Receiver - Juan Nunez, Western Michigan

Running Back - Brandon West, Western Michigan

Running Back - DaJuane Collins, Toledo

Placekicker - Andrew Aguila, Central Michigan


First Team

Outside Linebacker - Clayton Mullins, Miami

Outside Linebacker - Austin Pritchard, Western Michigan

Inside Linebacker - Nick Bellore, Central Michigan

Inside Linebacker - Joe Hudson, Miami

Down Lineman - Larry English, Northern Illinois

Down Lineman - Frank Zombo, Central Michigan

Down Lineman - Diyral Briggs, Bowling Green

Down Lineman - Terrance Knighton, Temple

Defensive Back - Louis Delmas, Western Michigan

Defensive Back - B.J. Hill, Ball State

Defensive Back - Davonte Shannon, Buffalo

Defensive Back - Barry Church, Toledo

Punter Jake Richardson, Miami

Second Team

Outside Linebacker - Derek Burrell, Kent State

Outside Linebacker - Noah Keller, Ohio

Inside Linebacker - Daniel Holtzclaw, Eastern Michigan

Inside Linebacker - Kevin Grant, Akron

Down Lineman - Andre Neblett, Temple

Down Lineman - Jameson Hartke, Ohio

Down Lineman - Zach Davidson, Western Michigan

Down Lineman - Brandon Crawford, Ball State

Defensive Back - E.J. Biggers, Western Michigan

Defensive Back - Londen Fryar, Western Michigan

Defensive Back - Mike Newton, Buffalo

Defensive Back - Brian Lainhart, Kent State

Punter Chris Miller, Ball State

Third Team

Outside Linebacker Justin Winters, Buffalo

Outside Linebacker - Boston McCornell, Western Michigan

Inside Linebacker Bryant Haines, Ball State

Inside Linebacker - Tim McCarthy, Northern Illinois

Down Lineman Brandon Bice, Northern Illinois

Down Lineman - Joe Coniglio, Miami

Down Lineman - Almondo Sewell, Akron

Down Lineman - Sean Murnane, Central Michigan

Defensive Back Steven Jackson, Ohio

Defensive Back - Trey Buice, Ball State

Defensive Back - Robbie Wilson, Miami

Defensive Back - Bryan Williams, Akron

Punter Nick Iovinelli, Bowling Green

Kickoff Return Specialist

First Team - Antonio Brown, Central Michigan

Second Team - Travis Shelton, Temple

Third Team - Bryan Williams, Akron

Punt Return Specialist

First Team Antonio Brown, Central Michigan

Second Team - B.J. Hill, Ball State

Third Team - Eugene Harris, Miami

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…