Friday, May 27, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Wednesday, 1/7/2004

Perrysburg City Council elects officers for 2004

Timothy McCarthy, a 16-year member of Perrysburg City Council, last night was elected council president for 2004 following several votes by council members, including newcomers Kevin Rantanen and Lizabeth Larson-Shidler, who were elected in November.

The two new council members, along with Mr. McCarthy and Thomas Mackin, who were re-elected in November, were sworn into office last night.

In the first round of voting for president, council members Joe Lawless, Maria Ermie, Mr. McCarthy, and John Kevern, who all were nominated for president, failed to receive enough votes to be elected to the post.

After a short break called by Mayor Jody Holbrook, Mrs. Ermie and Mr. McCarthy were nominated in the second round. After the vote was called for Mr. McCarthy, he was named the victor on a 5-2 decision, with Mrs. Ermie and Mr. Rantanen voting no.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.