Friday, November 27, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Sunday, 3/28/2004

Ohio agricultural center renames area branches

WOOSTER, Ohio - The Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center this month renamed eight of its 10 outlying branches - including three in northwest Ohio - to better reflect the work they do and the regions they serve, according to the center.

The branches are now called agricultural research stations.

In Wood County, the former Northwest Branch, which works with corn, soybeans, and wheat near Custar, has become the Northwestern Agricultural Research Station.

In Sandusky County, the former Vegetable Crops Branch, which works with tomatoes, cucumbers, wheat, and other crops near Fremont, has become the North Central Agricultural Research Station.

In Huron County, the former Muck Crops Branch, which works with lettuce, onions, and other crops near Celeryville, is now the Muck Crops Agricultural Research Station.

The research and development center is part of Ohio State University's College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, the state organization responsible for agricultural and related research.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Points of Interest