Friday, July 31, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Monday, 5/3/2004

Shipping group to honor Kaptur

U.S. Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D., Toledo) is one of two congressmen chosen to receive Great Lakes Legislator of the Year awards this year by the Great Lakes Maritime Task Force, an organization of lakes shipping interests.

"Representative Kaptur has been a tireless advocate for Great Lakes shipping for more than 20 years," Patrick J. O'Hern, the task force's president and general manager of Bay Shipbuilding in Sturgeon Bay, Wis., said in an announcement.

"Whenever there has been a need, be it a new heavy icebreaker or navigation improvements, Congresswoman Kaptur has been among the first to embrace the issue and guide the effort to a successful conclusion."

Miss Kaptur's efforts to promote modernization of the St. Lawrence Seaway figured prominently in her selection this year, the statement said.

Miss Kaptur is to receive her award during a task force breakfast tomorrow in Washington.

The other honoree is U.S. Rep. Vernon J. Ehlers (R., Mich.).

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.