Sunday, May 01, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Sunday, 10/31/2004

6 more institutions join consortium

Six additional Ohio institutions have signed up to become members of the Great Lakes Educational Consortium for Homeland Security Training, which includes two-year and four-year academic institutions across Ohio.

The new institutions pledged their support during the consortium s first meeting Thursday at Owens Community College, bringing the total number of members to 16.

The new institutions include Columbus State Community College, Hocking College, Lakeland Community College, Marion Technical College, Stark State College of Technology, and Tiffin University. The other institutions are all located in northwest Ohio. The consortium was created by Owens and the University of Findlay.

Owens Provost Paul Unger said the consortium s immediate goal is to compile a database that will outline the various institutions capabilities as they relate to emergency response and homeland security. Mr. Unger said the next meeting, which is unscheduled, will be held in Columbus.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.