Tuesday, December 01, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Wednesday, 8/10/2005

Owens CC signs 12 for softball team

Owens Community College has signed 12 first-year student-athletes to softball scholarships for the upcoming season, according to Express coach Duane Lanham.

Scholarship recipients include: Kelly Acker (Southview), Sarah Barowske (Genoa), Tarah Dominique (Swanton), Amanda Farringer (Bowsher), Ashley Henney (Clay), Paige Kingsborough (Fremont Ross), Christy Merritt (Monroe Jefferson), Amber Morgart (Elmwood), Whitney Ondrus (Clay), Jessica Snyder (Southview), Danielle Stead (Maumee) and Chelsea Vargyas (Waite).

The Express finished with a 44-12 record last year and captured the Ohio Community College Athletic Conference regular season championship with an 18-0 mark. Owens made its first trip to the NJCAA Division II national tournament, finishing fifth.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.