Thursday, July 30, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Monday, 7/28/2008

6 counties to share homeland security funds

Six counties in northwest Ohio and southeast Michigan will share $1.26 million, and Toledo and Lucas County will receive $321,221 as part of two federal homeland security programs, according to U.S. Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D., Toledo).

The award of $1.26 million came from the Department of Homeland Security under the Urban Area Security Initiative. Officials from Lucas, Fulton, Henry, Ottawa, Wood, and Monroe counties will determine how the money is allocated.

Toledo, Cincinnati, Cleveland, and Columbus were the only places in Ohio to receive federal support under the security initiative. The Toledo area was dropped from the program for Fiscal Year 2007.

Miss Kaptur said she repeatedly urged homeland security officials to restore the region s eligibility. We deserve to be a part of this program.

The money allocated to Toledo and Lucas County comes from a program of the Metropolitan Medical Response System. The Toledo Fire Department will work with other agencies to determine how the funds will be allocated.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.