Tuesday, September 01, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Monday, 6/13/2011

6 honored for help in bettering Wood Co.


Five Wood County residents and one former resident were honored Sunday for their help in the betterment of the county.

Wood County commissioners honored the recipients of the annual Spirit of Wood County awards during a ceremony at the Wood County Historical Center, 13660 County Home Rd., Bowling Green.

The ceremony was in conjunction with Wood County Heritage Days.

Award winners for 2011 were Richard Martin of Bowling Green, for Agricultural Leadership, Elaine Paulette McEwen of Bowling Green for Education for Civic Responsibility, Barbara Keller of Bowling Green for Liberty Through Law/Human Freedom, Rebecca Bhaer of Bowling Green for Self-Government, and Douglas Pratt of Perrysburg, for the Lyle R. Fletcher Good Citizenship Award.

Former Wood County resident Daryl Stockburger was named recipient of the Industrial-Economic Development award.

The awards are given to residents who show they have bettered the county as a whole, according to a statement from the commissioners. The awards have given since 1987.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories