Thursday, Apr 26, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


TC's Lane and Phelps win titles; Liberty Center girls take crown

Nathan Lane and Delainey Phelps captured the boys and girls individual titles for Toledo Christian at the Division III district meet at H.P. Eells Park in Bettsville. Lane crossed the line in a time of 16:51.38 to lead the Eagles to third place in the District 2 meet. Matt Oram (16:59.47) was third.

In the girls' District 1 meet, Phelps won in 19:33.95. Krista Wood (20:03.49) and Michelle Wright (20:11.04) nailed down fourth and fifth place for Toledo Christian, which finished in second overall.

The Woodmore boys secured a seventh-place finish in the District 2 race with 12th and 13th-place finishes from Kaleb Perez (17:36.72) and Chris Hines (17:37.16).

In the District 1 boys meet, Elmwood got top-10 finishes from Dexter Lee (4th, 17:02.02) and Josh Boes (9th, 17:30.38) as the Royals finished in third place. Lorne Strausbaugh (14th, 17:40.61) also advanced to regionals for Elmwood.

In the District 3 race, Fostoria St. Wendelin's Jorden Nye came across the line in seventh place in a time of 17:38.30. Jacob Kissell (17:51.88) and Jacob Merryfield (17:54.30) paced each other to 10th and 11th-place finishes for Gibsonburg, which locked up a fourth-place finish.

In the girls' District 2 race, Elmwood placed second, six behind Hopewell-Loudon.

Ashley Wolfe (7th, 21:11.56), Brittany Gross (11th, 21:36.82), Miranda Wagner (14th, 21:46.83), and Jessica Murlin (15th, 21:48.86) led the way.

Lakota's Cariss Reese (3rd, 20:40.22) was the top local finisher. Woodmore's Allie Wank was 16th, finishing in 21:49.61.

At the Spencerville meet, Liberty Center ran away with the girls title in District 1, outdistancing Liberty-Benton. The Tigers' Brittany Atkinson (18:30.8) won the individual title. Teammates Kelly Haubert (4th, 19:39.5), Chelsea Knapp (5th, 19:53.4), and Paige Chamberlain (6th, 20:09.5) were regional qualifiers for the Tigers.

In the boys' District 1 race, Hilltop's Zach Smith (5th, 17:12.7) and Brady Livensparger (9th, 17:38.3); Liberty Center's Joe Seedorf (7th, 17:28.6), JakeAtkinson (8th, 17:36.6), and Cameron Weaks (12th, 17:44.8); and Pettisville's Dominic Frey (10th, 17:39.3) and Tanner Rufenacht (11th, 17:43.5) advanced. Liberty Center finished second in the team race, followed by Pettisville.

In District 3, Liberty-Benton and Archbold placed second and third.

The Eagles placed four in the top 16: Eric Duvall (3rd, 17:09.2), Joseph Sherrieb (4th, 17:10.1), Cole Newman (7th, 17:28.5), and Tyler Gleason (12th, 17:43.3). The Blue Streaks had three qualifiers: Bryce Tinsman (5th, 17:15.1), Adrian Ramirez (10th, 17:37.6), and Alex Hurst (14th, 17:52.8).

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…