Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Sunday, 6/9/2013 - Updated: 2 years ago

Blade staffers capture 14 Ohio journalism awards


The Blade received 14 awards in the 2013 Ohio Excellence in Journalism Awards, presented Friday by The Press Club of Cleveland.

“How and when journalism is delivered are in rapid transition. Even the very definition of journalism seems to be in play,” said Michael E. Bennett, the press club’s president. “But a commitment to excellence in journalism remains fundamental to reporters and their news outlets, as evidenced by more than 800 entries in this year’s competition.”

Receiving awards in the Best of Ohio category were Kirk Walters, who took first place in cartooning, and Dave Kushma, who took third place in Editorial.

“The well-informed and well-written articles were a great read,” the judges said of Mr. Kushma’s submissions. “The reporter’s style is straightforward and convincing.”

Also receiving top honors was Taylor Dungjen, whose blog, “Ride Along,” finished first in that category.

“Finally, a blogger who ‘gets it,’” the judges commented. “Personality [love the intro video], good quality journalism, and the behind the scenes info people clamor for.”

The Blade also received a number of second-place awards.

Those awards were: Breaking news, consecutive days same topic: Ignazio Messina; Breaking news, single-day package: Jennifer Feehan, Taylor Dungjen, and David Patch; Sports column: Matt Markey; Obituary: Mark Zaborney; Features, general: Tanya Irwin; Investigative: Kris Turner; Illustration single image: Tom Fisher; and A-1 news front, daily and nondaily newspapers: Doug Koerner.

Third-place finishes were: General news, single story: Matt Markey; Sports, daily news photo: Dave Zapotosky; and Single-page- design broadsheet: Wes Booher, Tom Fisher, and Jeff Basting.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories