Saturday, May 26, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


Wood, Fulton, Seneca fall contests set

Former extension agent to face Dem appointee for Perkins’ commissioner post

Wood County’s former extension agent won the GOP nod Tuesday in a five-way race for county commissioner.

Doris Herringshaw will face Democrat Joel Kuhlman, who was appointed in January to fill longtime Commissioner Alvie Perkins’ seat on the board. Mr. Perkins retired Jan. 11 on his 79th birthday after more than two decades as a county commissioner.

“I’m surprised and very humbled by the number of votes I received and the support I have,” she said. “I know it’s been a team effort. I’ve had lots of people help me.”

Ms. Herringshaw, 62, of Liberty Township, who retired last summer from the Ohio State University Extension, was the top vote-getter followed by Terry Krukemyer of Pemberville; David Beaverson of Middleton Township, Richard Ruffner of Webster Township, and Adam Seibert of Jerry City.

In Fulton County, Republican voters chose Fulton County Chief Sheriff’s Deputy Roy Miller, 43, over Delta police Chief Rick Sluder, 43, in the race to replace Sheriff Darrell Merillat, who has been in office since 1985 but did not seek re-election.


While there are no Democrats on the November ballot, an independent —Wauseon police Chief Keith Torbet — has filed to run for sheriff.

Fulton County Prosecutor Scott Haselman defeated Stacey Burns, a Delta lawyer, and Clerk of Courts Paul MacDonald was re-elected over challenger Abigail Bieber. Commissioner Dean Genter lost his re-election bid to William Rufenacht.

No Democrats filed to run for the posts.

While Commissioner Paul Barnaby was unopposed in the GOP primary, independent Becky Thatcher filed to run for his seat in November.

In Seneca County, two-term Commissioner Dave Sauber of Tiffin, who voted against demolition of the 1884 courthouse because of the cost, was defeated by Holly Stacy of Green Springs, who is president and chief executive officer of the Sandusky County Chamber of Commerce in Fremont.

Ms. Stacy may still have a race to run in November. Independent Paul Shoemaker has filed to run for the seat.

In a separate GOP primary for county commissioner, Tiffin businessman Fred Zoeller handily defeated challenger Kevin Carrigan, also of Tiffin.

Mr. Zoeller, president and chief executive officer of Tiffin-based Laminate Technologies Inc., will face two-term Commissioner Ben Nutter, a Democrat, in November. Independent Wilma Klopp filed petitions to run for the seat, but she may be disqualified because she voted absentee in the Republican primary.

In Hancock County, incumbent Commissioner Ed Ingold lost his re-election bid to Brian Robertson, partner and vice president of MBDS LLC, a manufacturing services firm.

Mark Gazarek, an accountant and Marion Township trustee, defeated Tom Shindledecker, former news director for WFIN-WKXA Radio in Findlay, to fill the commissioner’s seat being vacated by Emily Walton, who did not seek re-election.

Also Tuesday, State Rep. Randy Gardner (R., Bowling Green) easily defeated Michelle McCauley of Sylvania in the GOP primary for the 2nd District Ohio Senate seat now held by Mark Wagoner (R., Ottawa Hills), who did not seek re-election. The 2nd District includes Wood and Erie counties and parts of Lucas and Ottawa counties.

In the newly configured 83rd Ohio House District, which includes Hancock and Hardin counties and northern Logan County, former Findlay auditor Robert Sprague defeated Findlay businessman Kevin Rettig in the GOP primary. Mr. Sprague, who was appointed to the House seat in February, will face Findlay attorney John Kostyo, a Democrat, in November.

Contact Jennifer Feehan at:

or 419-724-6129.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…