Monday, May 28, 2018
One of America's Great Newspapers ~ Toledo, Ohio


2 judicial races, sheriff's job top local ballot

  • MonroeSheriffCands-jpg-1

  • MonroeProbateCands-jpg-1

MONROE — Two of five judicial posts up for election are contested in Monroe County, where voters also will elect a new sheriff, drain commissioner, and decide district commissioner races.

Attorneys Daniel White of Monroe and Cheryl Sweeney of LaSalle are vying to fill the 38th Circuit Court judgeship in a nonpartisan election. Mr. White was appointed to fill the remainder of the term of Judge Joseph Costello, Jr., who resigned to take a position in the prosecutor’s office.

Frank Arnold and Jill LaVoy are running for probate judge in Circuit Court. Both are Monroe residents. Mr. Arnold was appointed by then-Gov. Jennifer Granholm in July, 2010.

The sheriff’s race has pitted Democrat Dale Malone, a Carleton resident who retired as major after working in the office for 29 years, against Jan Jay, also of Carleton, a Republican who has made unsuccessful attempts to be elected drain commissioner and county commissioner.

The winner will replace Sheriff Tilman Crutchfield, who will retire at the end of the year.

Republican Joe Lehman of Monroe is challenging incumbent David Thompson of Temperance for drain commissioner.

Mr. Thompson, a Democrat and longtime employee of the office, was appointed in January to fill the unfinished four-year term of Daniel Stefanski, who retired.

Seven of nine seats on the Monroe County Board of Commissioners are contested on Tuesday, including attempts by four incumbents to retain their offices.

District 8 Commissioner Jason Sheppard, a Republican who represents most of Bedford Township, is defending his seat against Democrat Thomas Frecker. Both candidates live in Temperance.

District 1 Republican David Hoffman of Dundee and District 4 Republican Dan Donahue of Monroe will defend their seats against Democratic challengers Bill Buckles of Petersburg and Robert Lambert of Monroe, respectively.

The District 3 race pits Democrat Al Potratz of Flat Rock, who lost his seat on the board four years ago, against incumbent Republican Stephen Bell of Carleton.

Republicans Rebecca Hicks of Monroe and Richard Russell of Luna Pier are running against Democrats Jason Turner of Monroe and Jon Cook of LaSalle for District 5 and District 7, respectively.

In District 2, voters will decide between Republican Mark Brant of Monroe and Jamey Fick of Monroe.

Republican Robert Duffey of Monroe is defending his seat on the Monroe County Road Commission against Democrat Steve Pace, also of Monroe.

The offices of prosecutor, treasurer, and clerk in Monroe County are uncontested.

Click to comment

Quis autem vel eum iure reprehenderit qui in ea voluptate velit esse quam nihil molestiae consequatur, vel illum qui dolorem?

Temporibus autem quibusdam et aut officiis debitis aut rerum necessitatibus saepe eveniet.

Copyright © 2018 Toledo Blade

To Top

Fetching stories…