Saturday, November 28, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Sunday, 11/4/2012

Register of deeds, 4 commissioner seats contested in Lenawee County


Editor's note: This version corrects that Ms. Bater, not Ms. Wimple, has worked in the office of register of deeds for 23 years before being appointed register.

ADRIAN — Voters in Lenawee County will have a light ballot on Tuesday with only the register of deeds and four commissioner seats contested.

Republican Carolyn Bater, who is the incumbent register of deeds, faces a challenge from Democrat Sharon Wimple for election to a four-year term.

Ms. Bater worked in the office for 23 years before she was appointed register in April to replace Vicki Daniels, who retired.

Four of nine seats on the Board of Commissioners are contested.

District 1 Commissioner David Stimpson will defend his seat against Democrat Gayle Keiser. Mr. Stimpson, a Republican, is seeking his third term on the board.

READ MORE: The Blade 2012 Voters Guide

The election for District 5 commissioner has pitted incumbent Democrat Karol Bolton against Republican William Hoffman.

Two candidates are challenging District 7 Commissioner John Tuckerman, a Republican, in his bid for re-election to a sixth, two-year term. Raymond Soff is running as an independent and Paul Benjamin is the Democratic candidate.

Incumbent District 9 Commissioner Chris Wittenbach, a Republican, is opposed by Democrat Todd Morgan.

The candidates for prosecuting attorney, sheriff, clerk, treasurer, road commissioner, drain commissioner, and surveyor are unopposed.

Voters in Blissfield Township will choose between Republican Adolio Navarro, Jr., and Democrat Mark Burgermeister, who are seeking election to supervisor.

Incumbent Democrat Nancy Cranor is being challenged by Democrat Jennifer Lopez-Kandik for clerk. Incumbent Orrin Gregg, who is an independent, Republicans Devon Gilson-Pitts and Kris Ruhl, and independent Patrick Laberdee are running for two trustee seats on the township board.

The race for Riga Township supervisor pits Republican Kevon Martis against independent Gary Kastel. Republican Paul Dusseau and independent Thomas Jaffee, who are both incumbents, are opposed by Republican Karlene Goetz, who is the current clerk, for two trustee spots.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories