Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Current Weather
Loading Current Weather....
Published: Thursday, 4/25/2013 - Updated: 2 years ago

Central Michigan's Fisher picked number one in NFL Draft


NEW YORK — Eric Fisher was selected by the Kansas City Chiefs as the number one pick in tonight the 78th National Football League Draft.

Fisher, 22, played his college football as an offensive tackle for Central Michigan.

List of the top draft picks in the National Football League
2013 — Eric Fisher, offensive tackle, Central Michigan, Kansas City
2012 — Andrew Luck, quarterback, Stanford, Indianapolis
2011 — Cam Newton, quarterback, Auburn, Carolina
2010 — Sam Bradford, quarterback, Oklahoma, St. Louis
2009 — Matthew Stafford, quarterback, Georgia, Detroit
2008 — Jake Long, offensive tackle, Michigan, Miami
2007 — JaMarcus Russell, quarterback, LSU, Oakland
2006 — Mario Williams, defensive end, N.C. State, Houston
2005 — Alex Smith, quarterback, Utah, San Francisco
2004 — Eli Manning, quarterback, Mississippi, San Diego (traded to NY Giants)
2003 — Carson Palmer, quarterback, USC, Cincinnati
2002 — David Carr, quarterback, Fresno State, Houston
2001 — Michael Vick, quarterback, Virginia Tech, Atlanta
2000 — Courtney Brown, defensive end, Penn State, Cleveland
1999 — Tim Couch, quarterback, Kentucky, Cleveland
1998 — Peyton Manning, quarterback, Tennessee, Indianapolis
1997 — Orlando Pace, offensive tackle, Ohio State, St. Louis
1996 — Keyshawn Johnson, wide receiver, USC, NY Jets
1995 — Ki-Jana Carter, running back, Penn State, Cincinnati
1994 — Dan Wilkinson, defensive tackle, Ohio State, Cincinnati
1993 — Drew Bledsoe, quarterback, Washington State, New England
1992 — Steve Emtman, defensive tackle, Washington, Indianapolis
1991 — Russell Maryland, defensive tackle, Miami, Dallas
1990 — Jeff George, quarterback, Illinois, Indianapolis
1989 — Troy Aikman, quarterback, UCLA, Dallas
1988 — Aundray Bruce, linebacker, Auburn, Atlanta
1987 — Vinny Testaverde, quarterback, Miami, Tampa Bay
1986 — Bo Jackson, running back, Auburn, Tampa Bay (did not sign)
1985 — Bruce Smith, defensive end, Virginia Tech, Buffalo
1984 — Irving Fryar, wide receiver, Nebraska, New England
1983 — John Elway, quarterback, Stanford, Baltimore (traded to Denver)
1982 — Kenneth Sims, defensive tackle, Texas, New England
1981 — George Rogers, running back, S.Carolina, New Orleans
1980 — Billy Sims, running back, Oklahoma, Detroit
1979 — Tom Cousineau, linebacker, Ohio State, Buffalo (did not sign)
1978 — Earl Campbell, running back, Texas, Houston
1977 — Ricky Bell, running back, USC, Tampa Bay
1976 — Lee Roy Selmon, defensive end, Oklahoma, Tampa Bay
1975 — Steve Bartkowski, quarterback, California, Atlanta
1974 — Ed Jones, defensive end, Tennessee State, Dallas
1973 — John Matuszak, defensive end, Tampa, Houston
1972 — Walt Patulski, defensive end, Notre Dame, Buffalo¼
1971 — Jim Plunkett, quarterback, Stanford, New England
1970 — Terry Bradshaw, quarterback, Louisiana Tech, Pittsburgh
1969 — O.J. Simpson, running back, USC, Buffalo
1968 — Ron Yary, tackle, USC, Minnesota
1967 — Bubba Smith, defensive tackle, Michigan State, Baltimore

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories